Toyota Lecture Series

TLS Hero


The Toyota Lecture Series in Design was established through a generous $1 million endowment gift to the College for Creative Studies from Toyota Motor Company. The endowment is used to bring prominent designers and scholars in all fields of design to speak at CCS.

Previous Toyota Lecturers include Hideichi Misonom, Shiro Nakamura, Alexander Gelman, April Greiman, Wahei Hirai, Kevin Hunter, Syd Mead, Daniel Pink, Karim Rashid, Chris Lefteri, Matthew Crawford, Stephen Burks, Stefan Sielaff, Kyle Cooper, Ezio Manzini and Min Wang.

 Toyota Logo




Choklat TLS Poster


Aki Choklat is a footwear and accessories designer sharing his life between two of his favorite cities—London and Florence. After receiving his Master’s degree from the Royal College of Art in London, he has worked at all levels of the fashion industry, from design to production. Aki not only designs his eponymous label, but also acts as Design Consultant for various international brands. He is currently Creative Director for London-based trend agency, specializing in socio-cultural influencers and the consumer. Aki Choklat is an author of numerous design books, with Footwear Design (published by Laurence King) being the latest, which has become the essential design book for the shoe industry. Aki’s academic work has spanned from design lecturer roles at De Montfort University, Cordwainers and London College of Fashion [UK], to his most recent academic role as a course leader in Polimoda, Florence. Aki believes in a multidisciplinary approach to learning that incorporates creativity, academics and inspiration from daily life.

Join us:

Thursday, April 30, 2015, 6:00 p.m.
CCS's Wendell W. Anderson Jr. Auditorium
Walter B. Ford II Building, Walter and Josephine Ford Campus
201 E. Kirby
Detroit, MI



Past Lecturers

Louise Fili
Hideichi Misonom
Shiro Nakamura
Alexander Gelman
April Greiman
Wahei Hirai
Kevin Hunter
Syd Mead
Daniel Pink
Karim Rashid
Chris Lefteri
Matthew Crawford
Stephen Burks
Stefan Sielaff
Ed Fella
Kyle Cooper
Ezio Manzini
Min Wang
Glenn Shrum
Tim Flattery

David Gibson
Massimo Ferragamo
Ken Walker
Stefan Sagmiester
Cynthia E. Smith
Walter Hood
Marco Susani
Leo Espinosa
Neville Page
Gordon Bruce
Chris Pullman
Matthew Crawford
Brian Connelly
Scott Robertson
Toshikatzu Koyiashi
Jon Calame
Damon Rich
James Carpenter

Designed and created by DDM Marketing & Communications.