2017 Kresge Artist Fellowships announced, four CCS alumni awarded

Eighteen metropolitan Detroit artists have been selected to receive 2017 Kresge Artist Fellowships in recognition of their creative vision and commitment to excellence. In addition, two emerging artists will receive Gilda Awards.

Kresge Fellows 2017

Funded by The Kresge Foundation, Kresge Artist Fellowships and Gilda Awards are administered by the Kresge Arts in Detroit office of the College for Creative Studies. The latest awards provide nine Kresge Artist Fellowships and one Gilda Award in the literary arts and nine Kresge Artist Fellowships and one Gilda Award in the visual arts.

Each fellowship comes with an unrestricted $25,000 prize and a year of professional practice support provided by Creative Many Michigan, including an invitation to an intensive professional development retreat presented by New York-based artist-service organization Creative Capital.

The two Gilda Award recipients receive $5,000 unrestricted awards to foster their work. The award is named in honor of the late artist, CCS professor and 2009 Kresge Artist Fellow Gilda Snowden’s legacy as a mentor and champion of young, emerging artists in metropolitan Detroit.

“From arts criticism to young adult fiction, sculpture to performance art and beyond, the 2017 Kresge Artist Fellows and Gilda Award recipients exemplify the thought-provoking, high-quality creative work that has always been a hallmark of Detroit’s creative sector,” says Christina deRoos, Director of Kresge Arts in Detroit.

Taylor Renee Aldridge, Arts Criticism
Benjamin Alfaro, Poetry
Tommye Blount, Poetry
Mike Burdick, Graphic Novels (CCS alumnus)
Jean Alicia Elster, Young Adult Fiction
Allie Gross, Creative Non-Fiction
Andrew Mehall, Interdisciplinary (CCS alumnus)
Drew Philp, Creative Non-Fiction
Satori Shakoor, Storytelling

Leah V., Creative Non-Fiction

Jeanne Bieri, Fiber Art
Jennifer Harge, Performance Art
Matthew Angelo Harrison, Sculpture
Sydney G. James, Painting (CCS alumna)
Nicole Macdonald, Painting
Juan Martinez, Metalwork
Catie Newell, Installation
David Philpot, Collage
Robert Sestok, Painting, Sculpture (CCS alumnus)

Austen Brantley, Sculpture

The awardees were selected by independent panels of local and national artists and arts professionals from over 750 applications.

Lynn Crawford, Fiction and Arts Criticism Writer; Founding Board Member, MOCAD; 2010 Kresge Artist Fellow Kahn Davison, Writer; 2015 Kresge Artist Fellow
Brian McGuigan, Writer; Program Director at Artist Trust (Seattle)
Anna Moschovakis, Writer; Adjunct Associate Professor of Writing, Pratt Institute; Writing Faculty, Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts, Bard College
Janet Webster Jones, Owner, Source Booksellers

Sabrina Nelson, Artist; Education Studio Assistant, Detroit Institute of Arts; Admissions Counselor, College for Creative Studies
Valerie Cassel Oliver, Senior Curator, Contemporary Arts Museum Houston
Jorge Rojas, Artist; Curator; Art Educator; Director of Education and Engagement, Utah Museum of Fine Arts Sarah Rose Sharp, Art Critic; Artist; 2015 Kresge Artist Fellow
John Sims, Artist; Writer

*The 2017 Kresge Artist Fellows’ and panelists’ biographies and head shots are available in Dropbox: https://tinyurl.com/KAID2017.